Modify

Opened 19 months ago

Closed 8 months ago

Last modified 8 months ago

#10863 closed enhancement (fixed)

assign projects to a certain group

Reported by: toonvl@… Owned by: falkb
Priority: normal Component: SimpleMultiProjectPlugin
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Trac Release:

Description

The possibility of assigning user groups to projects so that a certain group of users can only see a selection of the projects.
As not every user is involved in every project

Attachments (0)

Change History (11)

comment:1 follow-up: Changed 18 months ago by falkb

AFAIK there is no real user group support in Trac, am I right? Somehow it feels overbloated if this plugin should care about managing such groups. How would you expect the usage, configuration and GUI of such new feature? Seems it must be discussed before starting to implement that.

comment:2 in reply to: ↑ 1 Changed 18 months ago by toonvl

Replying to falkb:

AFAIK there is no real user group support in Trac, am I right? Somehow it feels overbloated if this plugin should care about managing such groups. How would you expect the usage, configuration and GUI of such new feature? Seems it must be discussed before starting to implement that.

Well for the feature I had the following usage in mind:

At the admin page a subpage where accounts can be linked to groups, not neccessarily the authentication groups, and another one where the projects can be linked to the groups. Maybe also a page where these groups can be created I guess.

What this does is simply hide all the objects linked to the projects to which the person does not belong to. Examples: At the roadmap page, only the milestones and projects to which the person belongs to are shown. In a query, only the tickets show up which belong to projects the person belongs to. etc...

comment:3 Changed 18 months ago by falkb

Sounds reasonable but something holds me back from fully accepting it as new feature wish for this plugin. I support the idea of hiding projects from certain users or groups, but the implementation of a group management (including its web interface) should not be part of this plugin, right? So this plugin should rather *use* some generic interface to another component adding/removing/grouping users, and just do the mapping of projects to those ones.

Currently, I've no idea if such generic group management component exists and how it can be used by other plugins...

comment:4 Changed 16 months ago by falkb

  • Owner changed from crossroad to falkb

comment:5 Changed 10 months ago by falkb

  • Keywords planned added
  • Status changed from new to assigned

see #11367 (which is actually a duplicate). I've started working on it.

comment:6 Changed 8 months ago by falkb

In 13485:

  • some minor restructuring for check of restricted users list (see #11367)
  • added trial to get user groups from the permission system (disabled by default) (see #10863)

comment:7 Changed 8 months ago by falkb

In 13486:

implemented group support for user-restriction of projects via trac-admin permission add or /admin/general/perm (see #10863, see #11367)

comment:8 Changed 8 months ago by falkb

  • Keywords testing added; planned removed

toonvl, it may be done.

Worksforme @ Trac-1.0.1 with permission groups defined via trac-admin or webinterface admin panel (.../admin/general/perm). Those groups (beside direct user account names) can be put in a comma-separated list of restricted users in the Admin->Project->"Restricted to users" text field.

Please test and report back!

comment:9 Changed 8 months ago by falkb

In 13487:

inversion feature added for "Restrict to users" (see #10863, see #11367)

  • if the list in the user-restriction text field starts with '!' (separated by comma!), the meaning is inverted, thus means "Forbidden to users" then.
  • e.g. "john,paul,george,ringo" restricts to these 4 users for a certain project, while "!,bob,harry" excludes them from a certain project

comment:10 Changed 8 months ago by falkb

  • Keywords testing removed
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

user feedback timeout. Works properly for me.

comment:11 Changed 8 months ago by toonvl

Thanks!

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.