Modify

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#1982 closed task (wontfix)

Works for multiple users?

Reported by: greacen Owned by: pacopablo
Priority: lowest Component: TracBlogPlugin
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Trac Release: 0.10

Description

We have a bunch of bloggy folks on the team. I'd like to give everyone their own blog 'space'. Any tips on how to achieve/manage this?

Some nice to haves:

  • each user has a url
  • each user controls their blog display
  • user1 can't post to user2's blog

Attachments (0)

Change History (1)

comment:1 in reply to: ↑ description Changed 7 years ago by pacopablo

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Replying to greacen:

We have a bunch of bloggy folks on the team. I'd like to give everyone their own blog 'space'. Any tips on how to achieve/manage this?

Some nice to haves:

  • each user has a url

Well, as a recommendation, I have all blogs under the /wiki/blog path. Under that, create a path for each user, so it looks like:

  • /wiki/blog/user1
  • /wiki/blog/user2

etc.

Now, on each /wiki/blog/userX page, you can use the [[BlogShow()] macro to show that users blog. You would want to use a tag combination such as blog,userX

You can also use the [[BlogPost()]] macro on the /wiki/blog/userX page and specify the pagename= parameter. Something along the lines of: pagename=blog/$U/%Y/%m/%d/%H.%M

  • each user controls their blog display

Not sure what you mean by controlling their blog display, but they could always modify the call to [[BlogShow()]] on their given blog page

  • user1 can't post to user2's blog

Since there is no fine grained permissions in 0.10, point 3 is not enforceable. You can teach your users how not to blog on each others pages, but you won't be able to enforce it.

I'm going to close this ticket due to it being more of a "how-to" question than a real bug/issue/feature request.

Once 0.11 comes out and the plugin is ported, then you'll be able to protect one users blog from another users blog

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'.
to The owner will be changed from pacopablo. Next status will be 'closed'.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.