Modify

Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#2957 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Redirect After Deleting Post

Reported by: pacopablo Owned by: osimons
Priority: normal Component: FullBlogPlugin
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Trac Release: 0.11

Description

If you delete a blog post, you get the following error message:

No blog post named '<name of post just deleted'.

This is slightly confusing at first, because it seems to indicate that it couldn't delete the post because it couldn't find it. Of course the fact is that the post deleted successfully and therefore can't be found.

When you delete a post, it should redirect back to the blog handler on successful deletion. One does not expect to get an error on a successful operation.

Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by osimons

  • Type changed from defect to enhancement

It is confusing, but it does work like that when deleting other resources in Trac - like tickets and wiki pages. And, as this is a feature for admins I have to admit I've not put too much effort into the workflow of it...

But, redirecting to the main handler may not be more intuitive because then you have no visual indication at all that the delete was successful - you may start wondering what (if anything) actually happened? Perhaps start looking for that post or version to confirm that it no longer exists?

As you may want to delete a couple of versions, returning to the delete page seems the right thing to do (at least to me). However, if we could redirect to the page using a special query parameter or something to indicate success, we could at least trap it and print out a nice warning (if more versions exists) or a custom error if the post no longer exitst and there is no page to show.

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by osimons

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Nope. Decided this one is not worth it. It should be no surprise to a blog administrator that the post doesn't exist when he/she just deleted it. It works the same when deleting tickets also, so nothing really that surprising.

Hope you don't mind :-)

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.