Changes between Version 13 and Version 14 of TracUserSyncPlugin


Ignore:
Timestamp:
Nov 2, 2009 1:07:36 PM (5 years ago)
Author:
izzy
Comment:

--

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • TracUserSyncPlugin

    v13 v14  
    1313 
    1414If you intend to use this plugin in its current state, you are strongly encouraged to... 
    15  1. first test it in a non-productive environment, which best is a copy of the intended productive environment to be used on later 
    16  1. first let it run in `drymode`, and investigate the resulting `*.sql` files carefully 
     15 1. first test it in a non-productive environment, best is a copy of the intended productive environment to be used on later 
     16 1. first let it run in `drymode`, and investigate the resulting `*.sql` files carefully (see [#Usage below]) 
    1717 1. only if everything seems to be fine, and still being in your test environment, and after making a copy of the databases, disable `drymode` and verify the results 
    1818 1. only if still everything seems to be OK, repeat these steps in your productive environment - at your own risk 
     
    2020I (the author) will take no responsibilities whatever, especially concerning possible damage and data loss. You have been warned! 
    2121 
    22 If you are still encouraged to try it: Great - I love to receive your feedback! 
     22If you are still eager to try it: Great - I love to receive your feedback! 
    2323 
    2424== Limitations == 
     
    6363 
    6464== Configuration == 
    65 For testing purposes, default settings should be fine. However, there are some settings you can use for "fine-tuning" - they are to be found (or inserted) in(to) your `trac.ini`in the `[user_sync]` section as shown below: 
     65For testing purposes, default settings should be fine. However, there are some settings you can use for "fine-tuning" - they are to be found (or inserted) in(to) your `trac.ini` in the `[user_sync]` section as shown below: 
    6666{{{ 
    6767[user_sync] 
     
    8787 
    8888=== sync_fields === 
    89 Which fields of the user records should be considered for synchronization. By default, this is set to `name,email` - the two basic fields. If you use the UserManagerPlugin, you may want to add some more fields. Note that for now a single conflict on any of the fields will exclude a user record from being merged - though this may change in the future. 
     89Which fields of the user records should be considered for synchronization. By default, this is set to `name,email` - the two basic fields. If you use the UserManagerPlugin, you may want to add some more fields. Note that for now a single conflict on any of the fields will exclude a user record from being merged (though this may change in the future) - so the more fields added, the higher are chances for conflicts. 
    9090 
    9191There are two more fields considered here, even if not mentioned (and you should never introduce them into that list): the information used by the email verification. This means, if you enabled email verification in the AccountManagerPlugin, we will try to take care for that as well. So if a user verified for one environment, we try to do this for the other environments as well. 
    9292 
    9393=== users_keep === 
    94 This option only affects purging: here you can define users which shall always be excluded from purging. The plugin will take care for your permission groups (e.g. anonymous,authenticated) automatically, so you don't need to add those. 
     94This option only affects purging: here you can define users which shall always be excluded from purging. The plugin will take care for your permission groups (e.g. anonymous,authenticated) automatically, so you don't need to add those (if your check - see [#Results below] - shows the plugin missed one, you might add it here, though). 
    9595 
    9696=== exclude_envs === 
     
    9999== Usage == 
    100100=== Settings === 
    101 You will find the interface on the Admin page in the Accounts section as ''User Sync'' (see also below screenshot). After invoking this page, you can select the environments to synchronize. The list includes all Trac environments sharing the `TRAC_PARENT_DIR` with the environment you are currently in - though it did not yet check what password store they are using or even whether they share the same password file (this may be added later). If your selection includes an environment with conflicting data, it will be excluded later. By default, currently all found environments are pre-selected - so you might want to uncheck one/some or leave it as is. 
     101You will find the interface on the Admin page in the Accounts section as ''User Sync'' (see also [#Example below screenshot]). After invoking this page, you can select the environments to synchronize. The list includes all Trac environments sharing the `TRAC_PARENT_DIR` with the environment you are currently in - though it did not yet check what password store they are using or even whether they share the same password file (this may be added later). If your selection includes an environment with conflicting data, it will be excluded later. All found environments are pre-selected except those mentioned in the `exclude_envs` setting - so you might want to (un)check one/some or leave it as is. 
    102102 
    103103The second "field set" shows you the password file used by the current environment, and what users have been stored there. This is just for your information. 
     
    115115Now that you've made your selections, push the ''Perform actions'' button. When the page is reloaded, it will inform you about the results: 
    116116 
    117 A green box on top (see below screenshot) will give you short information about successful operation. If you got a red box instead, the operation failed completely. 
     117A green box on top (see [#Example below screenshot]) will give you short information about successful operation. If you got a red box instead, the operation failed completely. 
    118118 
    119119At the end of the page, a new "field set" called ''Log messages'' appears, giving you more detailed information about the process. This includes successful steps as well as "minor failures" (such as environments excluded for reasons like missing privileges or conflicting settings). Read this carefully to get an overview.