Changes between Version 7 and Version 8 of TracUserSyncPlugin


Ignore:
Timestamp:
Nov 1, 2009, 3:13:35 PM (5 years ago)
Author:
izzy
Comment:

--

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • TracUserSyncPlugin

    v7 v8  
    6565sql_file_path =
    6666sync_fields = email,name
     67users_keep =
    6768}}}
    6869The easiest way to modify these settings is using the IniAdminPlugin, where you always have some helpful information displayed next to the options. I will explain them here in short, though:
     
    8485There are two more fields considered here, even if not mentioned (and you should never introduce them into that list): the information used by the email verification. This means, if you enabled email verification in the AccountManagerPlugin, we will try to take care for that as well. So if a user verified for one environment, we try to do this for the other environments as well.
    8586
     87=== users_keep ===
     88This option only affects purging: here you can define users which shall always be excluded from purging. The plugin will take care for your permission groups (e.g. anonymous,authenticated) automatically, so you don't need to add those.
     89
     90== Usage ==
     91=== Settings ===
     92You will find the interface on the Admin page in the Accounts section as ''User Sync'' (see also below screenshot). After invoking this page, you can select the environments to synchronize. The list includes all Trac environments sharing the `TRAC_PARENT_DIR` with the environment you are currently in - though it did not yet check what password store they are using or even whether they share the same password file (this may be added later). If your selection includes an environment with conflicting data, it will be excluded later. By default, currently all found environments are pre-selected - so you might want to uncheck one/some or leave it as is.
     93
     94The second "field set" shows you the password file used by the current environment, and what users have been stored there. This is just for your information.
     95
     96The third section lets you select the actions to perform. ''Synchronize'' is already pre-selected here, since this is the main task this plugin is for, and also is what you probably want to do. This action means: Make sure all included environments get the account data users have entered in one of the environments for fields contained in the `sync_fields` setting. The second check box, labeled ''Purge'', will cause the plugin to remove all users from all environments - except those contained in the password file or mentioned in the `users_keep` setting. Of course, it would not touch your permission groups (anonymous,authenticated, and whatever you may have added) - these are evaluated automatically.
     97
     98{{{
     99#!html
     100<DIV STYLE='background: #fdc; border: 2px solid #d00; color: #500; padding: .5em; margin: 1em 0;'>
     101<B STYLE='color:#f00;'>WARNING:</B> You should always run in `dryrun` mode first and check the resulting `*.sql` files carefully. Every Trac setup has its specifics, and I only tested the script in my own setup. So as long as there's no feedback from other users, I'd consider it not-yet-safe!
     102</DIV>
     103}}}
     104
     105=== Results ===
     106Now that you've made your selections, push the ''Perform actions'' button. When the page is reloaded, it will inform you about the results:
     107
     108A green box on top (see below screenshot) will give you short information about successful operation. If you got a red box instead, the operation failed completely.
     109
     110At the end of the page, a new "field set" called ''Log messages'' appears, giving you more detailed information about the process. This includes successful steps as well as "minor failures" (such as environments excluded for reasons like missing privileges or conflicting settings). Read this carefully to get an overview.
     111
     112Next, you should also investigate the resulting `*.sql` files. Some hints:
     113 * Check the `NOT IN ()` list of the `DELETE` statements to make sure it contains all the users of your password file (they should be in here) as well as all your permission groups (''should'' be in as well - but the plugin ''may'' have failed to set them all up correctly - remember, it's not yet thoroughly tested) and `users_keep`
     114 * Check the `INSERT` statements for each environment (e.g. by turning them into `SELECT` statements and run those against the database - they should return '''no data''' then)
     115 * Check the `UPDATE` statements in the same way, if there are any - in this case, the corresponding `SELECT` '''must''' return a record, but not necessarily with the same data (hence the update)
     116
     117=== Hot run ===
     118You may disable the `dryrun` mode once you finished the checks above. Well, you may even disable it immediately - but that's currently not recommended :-) Once you are sure everything works fine, you can even disable the writing of the `*.sql` files by setting the `sql_file_path = none` in your `trac.ini`.
     119
    86120== Example ==
    87121This is what it could look like after a successful synchronization:
     
    91125== Future ==
    92126There are some things I consider for the future:
    93  1. purge users (i.e. if you delete a user in one environment, and thus remove him from the password file, this change should be reflected in the other environments as well - not leaving a bunch of obsolete information)
     127 1. add a keyword to `trac.ini` to automatically de-select (i.e. exclude) environments
     128 1. only list "compatible" environments (i.e. those sharing the same password file, and where the current user has the required privileges)
    94129 1. make the plugin more "fool-proof" and reliable (I need your feedback for that)
    95130 1. introduce some "Listeners" (to notice registrations/changes in environments and automatically propagate them to the other environments, so you only need to run the synchronization manually once - which is after installation).