Modify

Opened 9 years ago

Closed 9 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

#2609 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Option to make a blog entry private (Personal Blogging)

Reported by: Jason Trahan Owned by: Odd Simon Simonsen
Priority: normal Component: FullBlogPlugin
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Trac Release: 0.11

Description

Some of our users have asked if there is an option to create blog entries and not have it show on the main blog page. Basically they requested a true personal blog space. They still want users to be able to see their blog entries by going directly to the blog author page.

Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by Odd Simon Simonsen

Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

I won't be implementing 'blog-in-blog' features other than what follows from drill-down on categories or author. It's main purpose is a project blog, and front page of the blog will contain recent items from all.

That does not mean there aren't alternatives or supplements to make it more personal:

  1. The info box in the sidebar can be used to highlight information and guide to further navigation.
  2. Use the [[BlogList]]macro with format=full on a wiki page to pull out blog items as you see fit. If users have their personal wiki page, it can list blog items as well 3 different formats. Check macro documentation for more information on that.
  3. Some of my users (like me) have their own mini-projects with blog enabled. I've even made a personal_blog = true setting for that so that everything related to author is removed as it isn't needed. You can see my recently started blog as an example of such a tiny project:

And likely other variations is possible, but as I don't foresee myself going down the road you suggest I'm closing this as wontfix. Hope that is OK.

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by Jason Trahan

That's fine it was just a request from my users.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain Odd Simon Simonsen.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.