Modify

Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 7 months ago

#4653 new enhancement

Merging has poorly chosen default behavior

Reported by: fishburn@… Owned by:
Priority: normal Component: SectionEditPlugin
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Ryan J Ollos Trac Release: 0.11

Description

Assume there is a trac page with sections A and B. User one begins to edit section A. While this occurs, user two edits section B and saves changes. When user one goes to save changes to section A, user one's merge prompt will remove user two's changes *by default*.

I think the default behavior on wikimedia is ideal - namely that edits in different sections are seamlessly committed. Even if this behavior is not possible, the organization of different sections implies that the edits are over different areas, so taking both user's edits by default would seem more sensible.

(I'm on trac release 0.11.3 on ubuntu 8.04, setup was using easy_install for Trac)

Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by Ryan J Ollos

Cc: Ryan J Ollos added; anonymous removed

comment:2 Changed 7 months ago by Ryan J Ollos

Owner: Catalin BALAN deleted

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The ticket will remain with no owner.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.